top of page
검색
작성자 사진Seunghyeuk Lee

Space films Trilogy: <Ad Astra>

최종 수정일: 2019년 10월 11일



"Per Aspera Ad Astra", "Through hardships to the stars". This is a popular Latin phrase used by various governmental entities and organizations. Even I myself changed the title of this blog to the same phrase (Perhaps it is because it clearly reflects my motto through my life to come).


Anyways, on September 19th, 2019, a brand-new space flick starring Brad Pitt hit the theaters. Since I was busy preparing for my computer science project, I could not afford enjoying the movie right away. Therefore, after 9 days of its initial release, I finally watched it in CGV Gangnam and after the movie, a lot of complex emotions passed by.


Before the official release in Korea, the movie held a preview session for the selected few and critics. Thus, I had a chance to check the Rotten Tomatoes rating before going to the theaters. The ratings were quite intriguing.

Ad Astra: Critics ratings doubled the audience score

Unlike most of the films, critics ratings doubled the audience score. This only meant two things. One: Because the film is too complex in its nature, it failed to capture the audience's attention. Two: The film's main focus is not an adventure in space. Either way, it seemed obvious that the film failed to meet the popularity I expected.


The film itself, however, was a visually stunning masterpiece filled with metaphors.

조회수 4회댓글 0개

최근 게시물

전체 보기

DJing

“I can do this.” I’ve murmured this short but clichéd phrase probably thinking that it would help me. But no. Never in my short life have...

A machine

Intense sunlight dazzles from the sky and pervades through the streets, creating a neighborly environment. Sprinklers spray water all...

Cold relationships

I belong to the forest, the forest made out of concrete and steel. The trees of the forest, also known as skyscrapers, rise high up as if...

Comments


bottom of page