top of page
검색
작성자 사진Seunghyeuk Lee

Cold relationships

I belong to the forest, the forest made out of concrete and steel. The trees of the forest, also known as skyscrapers, rise high up as if they are entering the realm of divinity. The leaves of the trees, also known as people, tend to pass by others without emotions or feelings. I take a deep breath, and with a lung filled with the scent of artificiality, I head toward the taxi station, which is just below a 10-story building. I book a cab and wait until the cab arrives at the station. Amazed by the scenery of the new district, I lost track of time, and fail to notice that the cab has arrived. With a simple apology, “Sorry, sir”, I let the driver take me to today’s destination: the company’s conference room.


Some time ago, the world was not so much of a cold-hearted place. I was a high school senior student, preparing for the college entrance exams. I attended a school with a dormitory, thus I had to spend 24/7 with my “friends”. We laughed together, studied together, and even ate together. The “friends of mine” shared the same goal, and we were genuinely close in terms of academics, social relationships, hobbies, and so on.


I have no idea what they’re up to lately, but thinking of them now, the sole reason I was so acquainted with them was my first approach. I slightly tend to judge a book by its cover, so every time I see a new face, I try to judge them myself. Even though the habit, which I now am attempting to lose, is not the politest way to treat a person, most of the time, it fits one’s characteristics. Everyone wants to make a solid first impression. So am I. However, trying too hard on our first impressions are easily noticeable to others. Everyone hates to be penetrated by others, right? As others treat me just as I treat them, I hate being biased by other’s own stereotypes about my first impression.


Recalling back for once more, unlike today’s society, we actually had time to spend a great deal of time with our family back in the 2000s. Family members were considered to be the closest people one will ever be acquainted with. Although, as close as the relationship can be, we always argue over misunderstandings. The key to becoming one step close to a person was to solve the problem and to keep reminding myself. I had this feeling quite ago when I was still a child, my parents were too busy. They both run a hospital, so for little me to perceive the circumstances, I was left alone for several hours every day. Despite that my parents always spent their time with me on the weekends, the vacancy of them during the weekdays was so grave for the younger me. As time went on and I grew up, I eventually realized they are working so hard for the sake of our family’s support and my education. Time heals wounds.


The recollections of the memories evoke emotions that I’ve forgotten. Being a CEO of a space industry company, more than 95% of the relationships I make tend to be shallow, but connected. The cold society plays a key role in structuralizing my relationships, too. Individualism is prevalent; nobody cares about others anymore. In this cold, mechanic, precise world, I attempt something most people never achieve in their lifetime. I call the driver, “Hey, how was your day?”

조회수 5회댓글 0개

최근 게시물

전체 보기

DJing

“I can do this.” I’ve murmured this short but clichéd phrase probably thinking that it would help me. But no. Never in my short life have...

A machine

Intense sunlight dazzles from the sky and pervades through the streets, creating a neighborly environment. Sprinklers spray water all...

30 Interesting facts about me

1. You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but I seem to judge a person with his or her first impression to some extent even though I...

Comments


bottom of page