top of page
검색
작성자 사진Seunghyeuk Lee

Dear Future Me

Dear Future Me who have completed all the hard works in KMLA

Hi. This is a bit awkward since I’ve never written a letter to myself :) I know you’re having hard times in your college essay. Today must be your early submission deadline, right? Keep calm and cheer up! I don’t know if you’ll have time to read this letter, but I just wanted to remind you that you’ve done well, working through all the hardships you’ve faced in KMLA. So, a few months left in your high school life won’t be a big deal, will it?


Today is November 20th, 2019. 2019 may seem too far away from you. That is because you’ve always gone forward without looking at your back. Maybe it is a part of your nature. Maybe I can blame the circumstances that this high school make. Either way, it is time to let things go. Don’t get me wrong. I am not here to encourage you to give up on everything. You know how 22nd wavers were after October. Smiles were always on their faces, and they were enjoying their lives more than ever. Even a sophomore like me can easily recognize their joy, so you know how your future (at least for a few months) will be, right?


It is time to let things go. Free yourself from the restraints that bind you and feel free after a long time. Then all the little things will seem more precious. You’ve achieved yourself by only looking forward, so it is a time for you to take a break. Recharge yourself, and draw the future through the past. Reflect yourself :)


I can’t help but talk about what’s going on at this point. November 20th, 1:02 A.M. Seems like a meaningless time in a passing timeline, but actually, many things come across in your head while listening to HIGHEST IN THE ROOM by Travis Scott. You were feeling hazy after catching a cold, thinking about whether taking four mathematics in the next semester will be a good choice. In one corner of my mind, you were anxious about which university to apply. On the other corner, you were thinking about your personal relationships with your friends. Thus, I just want you to know that even the moment seems insignificant, these insignificant moments sum up to be a significant presence.


I won’t ask you about the results. I’ve just encouraged to let things go, right? What matters is that you’ve done your best (I know you’ve done your best) and wait for your opportunity. There is an old Korean saying, “진인사대천명”, which, as you know, is your family motto. As the old Korean saying goes, “Do your best and leave the rest to God”. Then, again, cheer up! There’s still a bright day ahead of you!

조회수 4회댓글 0개

최근 게시물

전체 보기

DJing

“I can do this.” I’ve murmured this short but clichéd phrase probably thinking that it would help me. But no. Never in my short life have...

A machine

Intense sunlight dazzles from the sky and pervades through the streets, creating a neighborly environment. Sprinklers spray water all...

Cold relationships

I belong to the forest, the forest made out of concrete and steel. The trees of the forest, also known as skyscrapers, rise high up as if...

Comments


bottom of page